Quetzal – QUETZANIMALES (2014)

QuetzanimalesCome and listen to the world made by the band’s latest album Quetzanimales. In “Intro (Sun Rises Over The East Side),” the steady note of Peter Jacobson’s cello stretches our bodies open toward the urban-scape configuring a sense of equilibrium among the worldly matter that is suspended and released throughout our planet. In this, their sixth album release Quetzal turns to the matter of animals in urban space—including roosters, ants, owls, geese, squirrels, coyotes, pigeons, spiders, dogs, and butterflies—to imagine a world not merely from the animal’s perspective but that shatters the colonial distinctions between persons, things, and animals. The animals in Quetzanimales come to life through the sounds of funky cumbia beats, bluesy melodies, and country inflected soulful ballads.

Excerpt by Deborah R. Vargas, Associate Professor, Department of Ethnic Studies at The University of California, Riverside. She is the author of Dissonant Divas in Chicana Music: The Limits of La Onda (University of Minnesota Press, 2012).

Release Date: July 19, 2014
Label: Artivist Entertainment

Track Listing

  1. Intro (Eastside Sunrise)
  2. Rooster
  3. Hormiguitas Divinas
  4. Hollenbeck Ganso
  5. Ardilla
  6. Coyote Hustle
  7. Palomo Vagabundo
  8. Spider’s Lament
  9. City Bridge Cocoon
  10. Tecolote
  11. Perr@ Caliente