Quetzal – Imaginaries (2012)

Quetzal - ImaginariesThe music of Quetzal is at once visceral and intellectual. It makes you move, it makes you sing, and it makes you think. Sometimes thought of as a rock band, its members draw from a much larger web of musical, cultural, and social engagement. On Imaginaries, they creatively combine shades of East L.A.’s soundscape, traditional son jarocho of Veracruz, salsa, R&B, and more to express the political and social struggle for self-determination and self-representation, which ultimately is a struggle for dignity. 12 tracks, 55 minutes, 40-page booklet with bilingual notes.

This album is part of the Smithsonian Folkways Tradiciones/Traditions series of Latino music albums, produced with support by the Smithsonian Latino Center.

Release Date: February 28, 2012
Label: Smithsonian/Folkways

Credits: Produced by Quetzal Flores ; Produced by Daniel E. Sheehy ; Recorded by Pete Reiniger ; Mixed by Pete Reiniger ; Mastered by Charlie Pilzer ; Liner Notes by Russell Rodríguez ; Liner Notes by Martha González ; Cover artwork by José Ramírez ; Photography by Brian Cross ; Design by Sonya Cohen Cramer.

Track Listing

  1. 2+0+1+2=Cinco (2+0+1+2=Five)
  2. Imaginaries
  3. Estoy Aquí (I Am Here)
  4. Time Will Tell
  5. Luz Y Miel (Light And Honey)
  6. Witness
  7. Tragafuegos (Fire Breathers)
  8. Duérmete (Go To Sleep)
  9. Dreamers, Schemers
  10. Intifada
  11. Por Eso (That’s Why)
  12. Todo Lo Que Tengo (All That I Have)